Netball World Cup

NWC2019 LogoThe Netball World Cup (NWC), previously known as the World Netball Championships, brings together the world’s top teams and represents netball’s flagship event.

The event is showcased around the world through a range of broadcast partners introducing Netball to a whole new audience.

INF Congress is also held alongside the event providing a global forum for Netball nations to come together, to innovate, share ideas and celebrate women in sport.

In 2019 the event will be held in Liverpool, England hosted by England Netball supported by UK Sport.

We look forward to welcoming you there!

Stay up to date! Sign up for updates on NWC2019 on the event website.


In February 2015, Liverpool was announced as the host city. The netball World Cup 2019 will run from 12th – 21st of July, 2019. This will be the first Netball World Cup on English soil since the event was in Birmingham back in 1995.

Australia will be the defending champions, having won their 11th title in Sydney in 2015. Australia have won the last three Netball World Cups.

Currently, three times have qualified for Liverpool 2019. England have automatically qualify as hosts, while Scotland and Northern Ireland qualified from the Netball Europe Regional Qualifiers. Thirteen other sides will make up the rest of the field.

Netball World Cup 2019 Official Launch

Image by Gareth Jones

The Netball World Cup 2019 was officially launched in St. George’s Hall in Liverpool on the 18th January, 2018. the launch unveiled the official brand of the event, titled ‘This is Netball’ which incorporates four pillars which are; Elite Sports, Empowering Women & Girls, Liverpool and the World. Watch the video below for more information.

Netball World Cup 2019 Format


Click here for the full format of the Netball World Cup 2019.



ACC Liverpool is the venue.

Previous Netball World Events

From 1963 until 1987 the World Netball Championships were played in a ’round robin’ format.  The name of the tournament became the ‘Netball World Cup’ in 2015.

YearLocationWinnerRunner UpThird PlaceNo. of Teams
2015Sydney, AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandEngland16
2011SingaporeAustraliaNew ZealandEngland16
2007Auckland, New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandJamaica16
2003Kingston, JamaicaNew ZealandAustraliaJamaica24
1999Christchurch, New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandEngland26
1995Birmingham, EnglandAustraliaSouth AfricaNew Zealand27
1991Sydney, AustraliaAustraliaNew ZealandJamaica20
1987Glasgow, ScotlandNew ZealandAustralia =
Trinidad & Tobago
1983SingaporeAustraliaNew ZealandTrinidad & Tobago14
1979Port of Spain, Trinidad & TobagoNew Zealand =
Australia =
Trinidad & Tobago
1975Auckland, New ZealandAustraliaEnglandNew Zealand11
1971Kingston, JamaicaAustraliaNew ZealandEngland9
1967Perth, AustraliaNew ZealandAustraliaSouth Africa8
1963Eastbourne, EnglandAustraliaNew ZealandEngland11

NEWSLETTER Keep up to date with the latest news and events from INF.